Delusional Traits – Reviews

Reviews on Amazon (UK & US) and Goodreads – Totals as of 23 March 2015

Total : 16 – Five Star x 11; Four Star x 3; Three Star 2

✭✭✭✭✭ Five Star Reviews ✭✭✭✭✭

 

Absolutely Brilliant! Some might call it an interlude… A day and night whizzed by. I finally looked up and considered writing a review but then that was enough of a rest for my eyes before continuing into the finale. Five stars David George Clarke. Absolutely brilliant! Amazon Customer on Amazon US 13 March 2015

Part II – A must-read continuation of Rare Traits This is Book Two of the Rare Traits trilogy, examining another branch of John Andrews’ family – his daughter Paola, introduced to us in the first book. It takes place in modern times to a great degree but is written with the same care and historical detail, and brings back almost all the characters we got to know in Book One. I wouldn’ t read it until I’ve read the first book because it will make more sense that way – Proofreader on Amazon US 11 March 2015

Great Escapism and Well Written I really enjoyed this follow up. It was just what I wNted following on from the first book in the trilogy. The focus on artists and the interesting plot line of someone with genes that mean they can live for many hundreds of years does connect with the reader and it is a light and compelling escapist read. Loved it and looking forward to the third in the series – Mr TW Bird on Amazon UK 4 November 2014

Hard to Put Down I read this book at the recommendation of my son, not realizing that it was a part of the Rare Traits series. It was a nice surprise when the Rare Traits characters made their entrance. It’s a testament to the plot that my 20 year old enjoyed this book as a stand alone book as much as I enjoyed it as a part two of a series. Annie Carr–or whatever name she’s going by now–is an intriguing character. I’m looking forward to what’s in store for her in the future. Definitely a good read–hard to put down. Laura Hedgecock on Amazon US 27 December 2014

Another stonking  read from DGC Although the complex main character might be more difficult to engage with than in Rare Traits, hang in there – you won’t be disappointed with this second book of the trilogy. David George Clarke writes with authority, panache and humour; his descriptive flair makes the darkest parts compelling and the lighter sections thoroughly enjoyable.
If you haven’t read “Rare Traits”, do read it before you start this one – it will add to your enjoyment of “Delusional Traits”, and you will anticipate the third book even more eagerly. brymaguk on Amazon UK, 20 January 2014

A solid continuation to the series I really enjoyed the first book in this series and so I was looking forward to reading this second installment, which I can now say I also thoroughly enjoyed. It’s a bit shorter and the style is somewhat different from Rare Traits. While the first book provided fairly detailed histories of the main characters various “lives,” this one was more rooted in the present and recent history with only occasional references to previous “lives.” I don’t say this as a criticism, rather to let you know that this isn’t just a continuation or re-hashing of the first book. Indeed, though the main character from the first book does appear in this volume, the primary focus is on his daughter and her life. Actually, I found the way the author connected the threads between their lives quite clever. This second book didn’t have as clean a finish as the first and there was a character/subplot that wasn’t fully developed, one presumes to be wrapped up in the final installment. So, now the wait is on for the conclusion. Jeff Blum on Amazon US, 14 January 2014

Are you prepared for less sleep? I was very much looking forward to this book, after thoroughly enjoying the first in the series, Rare Traits. Like its predecessor, I was caught up in the story within minutes, laughing aloud at the description of the man with a crowbar face (it’s an image which has stayed with me!) I was reading on my Kindle late last night and when it got to 70% I knew I should put it down and go to sleep but I couldn’t, I was glued and on tenterhooks about what was going to happen. I’m rather bleary eyed this morning, but it was so well worth it! I particularly enjoyed the way the two books (stories) were brought together, without too much repetition. And now, the long wait for the 3rd 🙁  J Walker on Amazon UK, 29 December 2013

Excellent Read My wife and I both read the book in four days – a real page turner – unable to put it down. We both thought that the first in the series “Rare Traits” was very good and this book follows on from that and is just as good – if not better. We would both recommend this book especially if you have read the first one. Looking forward to the third in series due out late 2014 – can’t wait. Thomas W Woodard on Amazon UK, 24 December 2013

Excellent Read I really enjoyed this book and couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to read the last of this series. Mehernaaz on Amazon US, 17 December 2013

From Nani on Goodreads:
Okay, it’s actually 4 ½ of five stars but there was no way I was going to give this book just 4 stars so officially it gets five, but it’s 4 ½. Let me explain:
I think maybe the book is too short. The first book, Rare Traits, was a much longer book and still felt like it was too short when I finished. I’m not at all saying anything negative about other book. Like a good book is supposed to they both left me hungry for more. Again Delusional Traits carries the reader to a world of art history through the chain of identities of one centuries-old artist. This time the bulk of Annie Carr’s history is related through talks with the psychiatrist assigned her case after witnesses confirm the murder she committed.
As with Rare Traits two stories, one pastand one present, culminate in great discoveries for the characters. I love the detail in the stories that build Annie Carr’s character. Just as John Andrews never changed the person he actually is through nearly 6 centuries of identities in the first book, Annie Carr’s personality doesn’t change from the time of her birth four and a half centuries ago. The book developed an antagonist that the reader can really dislike but left them sitting on the edge of their seats waiting for him to make a move. The story ended with a cliffhanger that just made me yell “NO!” I’m ready for the third book now
For me personally the 4 ½ instead of five stars is because the story lacked the action climax that Rare Traits had. There were definitely some exciting points as puzzles were figured out and computer programs searched, but it didn’t quite have the same “beat the bad guy” punch. Still, it was a great book I couldn’t put down.
I will suggest if you’re reading these great books, and I really recommend them, read them in order. There were many points in Delusional Traits where I excitedly identified “there’s the connection!” or “oh, you don’t know, but keep going in that direction.” Reading the books in order definitely makes you feel like you got an “edge.” I’m really looking forward to the final book in the Rare Traits trilogy at the end of the year. I know I’ll be a little sad when it’s over. 6 January 2014

**** Four Star Reviews ****

Another good read, look forward to the next book Really enjoyed this follow up to Rare Traits. Looking forward to the third book in the trilogy due out end of this year. Margaret Driffield on Amazon UK  24 March 2014

Delusional Traits I was waiting to go on holiday to read this book, but once I started I found it much like the first of the trilogy – a real page turner – and I finished it in just two sessions. Although quite different in setting and approach from Rare Traits, and with a slower build up, once the story began to unfold, the characters all came to life and kept me hooked. Delusional Traits complements the first book well and since it has been some time since I read Rare Traits I particularly valued the back references to jog my memory. There is much less of a science base this time, but the author continues to provide a detailed grasp of the various locations for his story, art and history, and his prose style makes for easy reading. The suspense of the ending leaves one hoping that the third volume will soon be completed and wondering how it will all turn out. RKB Amazon UK 2 February 2014

A page turner I enjoyed Rare Traits very much, as it brought together many interesting passions of mine. The second book Delusional Traits is good and the story line keeps you turning the pages. Old characters are woven in with the new and it brings the sorry together, you are left with a cliffhanger ending, whetting your appetite for the next book.

I didn’t really enjoy the mainly USA setting in this one, I much preferred roaming around a bit as in the first one.
Really looking forward to the next book. Well done!  Helen Robson on Amazon UK & Goodreads, 10 January 2014